a prayer from November

11.27.09

Father,
I have not treated you as a good Dad. Reveal to me more each day where you are healing and I am failing. Use your Holy Spirit to teach, convict, inspire, and break me toward your deepest will, which stems from love of yourself and your desire for glory, the ultimate of all things. Lord, if I only leaned on you for confidence, I may not plug my ears and run like a young boy hearing chore assignments from mom. Rather, I would see your Word as loving guidance to a son who’s flawed; I would run to you for a fulfillment and worship that the world has never seen, and I would go forth with such an urgent passion that my doubt, fear, and shame would be quenched by the very glory of God. Oh, what a humble King that was owed infinity by a bankrupt world! And you paid the entire debt, that we might have valuable life once more.

For this, forever praise his name!

Let me hear from you:

